Saying goodbye to Christopher Paolini’s “The Inheritance Cycle”

The four dragons of Alagaësia

(Potential SPOILERS ahead)
I’ve been a book lover since birth, and when  I first picked up Eragon in 2003. The blue cover with its dragon and simple lettering drew me in immediately. I was never the same. And now, after nine years with Eragon, Saphira and Galbatorix, Christopher Paolini’s The Inheritance Cycle has come to an end.
I won’t lie. I feel this loss a little more than I did when Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II came out in theaters. I can’t tell you why, really. Maybe because I started the series when I was older, or because I was drawn to Eragon by my own choice, and not because everyone else was reading it. Or maybe it was just the land, languages and characters that Paolini created that seemed somehow brighter than the brilliance J.K. Rowling brought to the table with Harry and company.
There really isn’t a specific reason, other than some part of the storyline connected with me. And so I waited, sometimes years, for the newest book to come out. Or for the movie, that undeniably never met the standards that the books lived up to. And even when I had gone such long amounts of time without reading about Alagaësia, I never managed to forget exactly what had happened in the last novel.
I laughed with these characters, and I cried with them. I felt their pain, sorrow and heartache. And now that the series is over, and I’ve closed the book on the final words of Inheritance, I’m not really sure what to do with myself. I want there to be a hundred more tales for the Dragon Riders. I want to continue learning (or pretending to learn) the complicated wording that is the Ancient Language. I want to watch all of the characters live their lives.
I just don’t want it to be over.

The good news, I suppose, is that Paolini isn’t through with Alagaësia yet. He’s said in a few interviews that he has plans for further stories set within his invented land, some of which will swing around to central characters from The Inheritance Cycle and others that will not.

So one day I’ll get to return to the high peaks of the Beor Mountains and to the beautiful city that is Ellesméra. I might get to see what Roran has managed to create out of the burnt ruins that was Carvahall and if Murtagh ever returns to Nasuada (because you know those to are in love.)

But until then, my friends:

Atra du evarínya ono varda. May the stars watch over you.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s